Best Doctoral Thesis in International Canadian Studies Award


This ICCS Award is designed to recognize and promote each year an excellent PhD thesis on a Canadian topic which contributes to outstanding scholarship on Canada written by a member (or one of his/her PhD students) of a Canadian Studies Association or Associate Member outside of Canada.


  • Every member association or associate member of the ICCS, except CSN, can submit annually one PhD thesis written in any language, which has been successfully defended within the preceding two years;
  • The thesis must be a scholarly monograph dealing mainly with a Canadian topic. Comparative works are eligible if the Canadian content is 50% or more;
  • The Grant and Awards Committee of ICCS will act as the jury. Its judgment will be based on a 15-20 page summary of the thesis and on an assessment report, written in French or in English, provided by the external reviewers previously contacted;
  • The author or the director of the thesis will include with the submission dossier a list of five specialists (including university affiliation, address, e-mail, etc.), one of whom will be asked to provide a detailed report in French or in English on the merit of the thesis;
  • Works not selected will not be kept on file for the following year’s competition. However, associations may re-submit works as long as the two-year period is not exceeded;
  • The Award is comprised of a document signed by the President of the ICCS. 
  • The Award includes a limited allowance toward travel and lodging expenses, in order for the recipient to travel to Toronto to officially receive the Award at the Annual General Meeting of the ICCS.


  • The author or the director of the thesis must be a member in good standing of a member association or of an associate member of the ICCS.
  • The application must be presented by the president of a member association or associate member, and include an electronic version of the thesis.


The deadline for submission is November 24 .


An application must contain the following: 

  1. An electronic version of the thesis being submitted;
  2. a 15-20 page summary in French or English;
  3. a curriculum vitae of the author;
  4. at least two examiner reports in English or French;
  5. a list of five specialists (including address, university affiliation, e-mail, etc.) able to read and provide in French or English a detailed assessment of the work submitted;
  6. a letter from the president of the member association or associate member supporting the application.

2022 WINNER: 

Marcin Markowicz, “Agents of change. Feminist literary magazines, editors, and the politics of cultural production in Canada (1970-2000),”  Department of English, Adam Mickiewicz University, 2020.


Requests for further information or submissions may be addressed to:

International Council for Canadian Studies
c/o Robarts Centre for Canadian Studies, York University
723 Kaneff Tower
4700 Keele Street
Toronto, Ontario M3J 1P3, Canada