Serving Canadian Studies Since 1971 - The International Council for Canadian Studies

The International Council for Canadian Studies (ICCS), founded in 1981, is a not-for-profit organization composed of 23 member associations and 5 associate members in thirty-nine countries, dedicated to the promotion and support of research, education and publication in all fields of Canadian Studies around the world.

The ICCS is governed by a Board of Directors and an elected four-member Executive Committee. The Board of Directors, which meets at least once a year, is responsible for planning and establishing the general directions and policies of the ICCS. It is composed of one representative from each member association and associate member, and the Executive Committee. The ICCS network links over 7000 academics and researchers in 70 countries.

The ICCS also acted as administrative agent of the Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade for several of the Department's Canadian Studies Programs.

Over the years, the ICCS has developed a series of activities and programs in support of Canadian Studies.

International Journal of Canadian Studies is a bilingual, multidisciplinary, and peer-reviewed journal publishing the latest research in Canadian Studies from around the world. IJCS prides itself in being the only scholarly journal to bring together academic research conducted both by Canadians and academics studying Canada from abroad. International Journal of Canadian Studies is available for sale at

Nik Nanos Leads “Advancing Canada Coalition” to restore funding for Canadian Studies

Noted Canadian pollster and market researcher Nik Nanos has initiated a public effort to encourage the Government of Canada to restore funding for Canadian Studies around the world. These funds were abruptly terminated in May 2012 by the Government of Stephen Harper.

Nanos has enlisted a blue-ribbon

Steering Committee to support this effort. Members include Margaret Atwood , Graeme Gibson, Jane Urquhart, Lawrence Hill, John English, Robert Bothwell, Margaret MacMillan, Laura Dawson, Alain-G. Gagnon, and Senator Peter Boehm.

Please sign up to support this effort at:


Scholarships & Awards

Look out for important dates regarding your application for various awards and scholarships.

More important dates